Leaving 70 years of your life behind. On the way from Russia to Spain.

After 76 years of living in Russia my parents were moving out to another country for good. They both knew that they will never come back. They both understood that this was the only solution at their age. That it was the time to admit they were getting old. They were incredibly brave to leave their beloved home behind for other people.
This was my home also for 20 years and I took my 3.5 years old Spanish son to get aquatinted with my hometown and the flat where I grew up in Russia. The flat that does not exist anymore. I knew it will help my parents to cope with this hard move. I knew he will make them understand that there is a better future waiting for them, that there is future. I also wanted my son to have a tiny share of my own childhood. And he certainly did. With all his little pure heart he leaved these moments and enjoyed them. I was struck by the contrast between his cheerful approach and freezing Russian winter, faces of people that tell you everything about their truly hard life. He made them smile, he made my parents believe. And I will cherish those days forever.
I admire their courage as well as the ability to accept the reality.
In Russian we say: “My house is my Tower”. May be partly because our external life is so unsecure and unpredictable. This is exactly what this apartment was for me. My Tower.

***

No pensaba publicar estas fotografías. Pero… repasándolas hace poco pensé en lo siguiente y me encanto! Como sabia mi hijo que no nos ibamos a quedar allí? que no estábamos cambiando la vida para siempre y no íbamos a vivir en este mundo tan frío lleno de preocupación, entre la gente sin sonrisa? Nadie le explico nada, nos fuimos y nos instalamos en la otra casa. Y el tan encantado abrazando la vida con toda su energía. Es curioso. Por que? Muchos dirían sin darle importancia que es por que los niños no se dan cuenta¡ Pues EXACTAMENTE¡ no tenia miedos, no pensaba en el futuro y no tenia objetivos para cumplir. Simplemente tomaba cada día como una aventura y lo disfrutaba con todo su corazoncito pequeño y puro. Aquí es la prueba y espero que esa lección que me dio me ayudara este año a cumplir un sueño para que nunca tenia tiempo. me ayudara a no darme cuenta de tantos miedos que uno puede tener ))))

Con esta serie participo en Daily Post weekly photo challenge “On the way”.

Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia22 Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Anna Moskalkova photography Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskakova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova Rusia. Anna Moskalkova

14 thoughts on “Leaving 70 years of your life behind. On the way from Russia to Spain.

    1. Hi Nathalie, thanks so much for your kind feed back. Yes honest pictures are not that easy to share openly, at least it was not so easy for me. but then I discovered it really pays off and people really appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear you. I still have my personal photos on a private page. It is always hard to get public, but in the end those photos are there to inspire people.

        Like

Leave a Reply

